New Zealand Short Film – The Six Dollar Fifty Man wins award in Cannes

SIx Dollar Fifty Man - Andy

SIx Dollar Fifty Man - Andy

For the second year running Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland have taken out a short film award at Cannes.

The New Zealand short film The Six Dollar Fifty Man has been awarded the Special Distinction in the Short Film Competition of the 62nd Festival De Cannes in France yesterday.

This is the second time that Wellington writer/directors Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland have been awarded the Special Distinction at Cannes; the first time was in 2007 for their acclaimed short film Run.

“It’s a huge honour to twice receive the Special Distinction in the Short Film Competition, particularly as Cannes is the world’s most important film festival.” says New Zealand Film Commission Short Film Manager, Juliette Veber.

The Cannes Short Film jury awarded João Salaviza’s Arena from Portugal the Palme d’Or. The Six Dollar Fifty Man competed with seven other international short films selected for the Competition programme, including the New Zealand/Danish co-produced short Lars and Peter.

Cannes Director of Film, Christian Jeune said that in the history of the event, New Zealand has had more short films chosen for Cannes than any other country in the world apart from France.

The Six Dollar Fifty Man tells the story of Andy, a gutsy 8 year-old boy who retreats into a make believe world to deal with playground bullying. The film was made with finance from the NZ Film Commission, produced by Wendy Cuthbert and executive produced by Shuchi Kothari and Sarina Pearson of Nomadz Unlimited. Mark Albiston, Louis Sutherland and Wendy Cuthbert attended the festival to present their film.

Cannes took place from 13 – 24 May and combines a festival and market, offering a mix of international participants more diverse than any other film event. For more information on the Cannes Film Festival visit


2009 The Six Dollar Fifty Man (directors Mark Albiston, Louis Sutherland) – Special Distinction-In Competition, Cannes
2009 Lars and Peter (director Daniel Borgman) – In Competition, Cannes
2007 Run (director Mark Albiston) – Special Distinction-In Competition, Cannes
2007 Fog (director Peter Salmon) – Critics’ Week, Cannes
2006 Nature’s Way (director Jane Shearer) – In Competition, Cannes
2005 Nothing Special (director Helena Brooks) – In Competition, Cannes
2004 Closer (director David Rittey) – In Competition, Cannes
2003 Turangawaewae (director Peter Burger) – Critics’ Week, Cannes
2002 Cow (director Michael Bennett) – Special Programme, Critics’ Week, Cannes
2000 Infection (director James Cunningham) – In Competition, Cannes
1996 The Beach (director Dorthe Scheffmann) – In Competition, Cannes
1996 This Film is a Dog (director Jonathan Ogilvie) – In Competition, Cannes
1996 Planet Man (director Andrew Bancroft) – Best Short Film, Critics’ Week, Cannes
1995 Despondent Divorcée (director Jonathan Ogilvie) – In Competition, Cannes
1994 Sure To Rise (director Niki Caro) – In Competition, Cannes
1994 Lemming Aid (director Grant Lahood) – In Competition, Cannes
1994 The Dig (director Neil Pardington) – Official Selection, Cannes
1994 Stroke (director Christine Jeffs) – Official Selection, Cannes
1994 The Model (director Jonathan Brough) – Official Selection, Cannes
1994 A Game With No Rules (director Scott Reynolds) – Official Selection, Cannes
1994 I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry (director Michael Hurst) – Official Selection, Cannes
1994 Eau De La Vie (director Simon Baré) – Official Selection, Cannes
1993 Lenny Minute (director Glenn Standring) – In Competition, Cannes
1993 The Singing Trophy (director Grant Lahood) – Special Mention-In Competition, Cannes
1991 Mon Desir (director Nicky Marshall) – Un Certain Regard, Cannes
1989 Kitchen Sink (director Alison McLean) – In Competition, Cannes

Speak Your Mind