Samsung AACTA Awards Nominations Announced

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has announced the nominees for the Samsung AACTA Awards in 2012.

Internationally awarded animator, writer and director Adam Elliot joined actors Alexandra Schepisi, Daniel Henshall and Claudia Karvan at Sydney’s National Institute of Dramatic Arts (NIDA) to announce the nominees, which confirmed the strength of Australian film and television in 2011.

Highlighting the reach and diversity of our screen industry, the nominations are spread across 14 Feature Films (out of a possible 21), 14 Documentaries, four Short Animations, six Short Fiction Films and 23 Television Productions.

The strength of Award entrants and nominees confirms the creativity, passion and vitality of Australia’s film and television industry, and we thank all entrants, and congratulate all nominees in what was an exceptionally competitive year.

Winners of the inaugural Samsung AACTA Awards will be announced at two major events in Sydney – the Samsung AACTA Awards Luncheon, presented by Digital Pictures (Sunday 15 January) and the inaugural Samsung AACTA Awards Ceremony (Tuesday 31 January).

Speak Your Mind